Central Website



Home > IUPAP Prize



IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics

The ICPEAC IUPAP Prize rewards a young researcher who has a leading personal role in the achievement of original and outstanding contributions to the field of AMO physics.

Nominations are sought for the ICPEAC IUPAP Prize which rewards a young researcher who has a leading personal role in the achievement of original and outstanding contributions to the field of AMO physics.

The prize will be awarded during the XXXI International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (ICPEAC 2019) to be held in Deauville France, 23-30 July 2019. The prize includes a medal, a EURO 1000 award and an invited presentation in plenary at ICPEAC 2019.

Nominations should be submitted to Roberto Rivarola before 31st March 2019 via e-mail to rivarola@ifir-conicet.gov.ar

Further information can be found on the IUPAP website

Nominations should include a brief paragraph stating the acheivement for which the nominee is recognized and a curriculum vitae detailing all publications. Self nominations will not be considered and for collaborative work the leading personal contribution of the nominee should be identified. To qualify as a 'Young Scientist' a nominee should have had no more than 8 years post-PhD research experience prior to 1 January 2019, accounting for career interruptions. For uninterrupted careers, nominees should have received their PhD no earlier than 2011.

Information on the previous awards at ICPEAC Conferences

Being allotted annually alternately with the International Conference on Atomic Physics (ICAP), regarding the ICPEAC Conferences, the IUPAP prize has been awarded six times:

  • in 2017, at the Cairns meeting to Dr. Johannes Feist, from the Condensed Matter Physics Center (IFIMAC) Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain for his work on "Modifications of molecular structure under strong light-matter coupling".
  • in 2015, at the Toledo meeting to Dr. Gretchen K. Campbell, from the Joint Quantum Institute at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Gaithersburg, MD, USA for her work on "Toroidal Bose-Einstein condensates and their application to "atomtronic" circuits".
  • in 2013, at the Lanzhou meeting to Dr. Till Jahnke, from the Experimental Atomic Physics group at the Institut für Kernphysik, Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität, Frankfurt, Germany, for his work on "A measurement of the evolution of Interatomic Coulombic Decay in the time domain".
  • in 2011, at the Belfast meeting to Dr. Ian B. Spielman, a young physicist from the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, USA, for his work on "novel experiments involving optical manipulation of ultracold gases".
  • in 2009, at the Kalamazoo meeting to Johan Mauritsson, an assistant professor in atomic physics at the Faculty of Engineering from Lund University, Sweden, for his work on "Attosecond Electron Interferometry"
  • in 2007, at the Freiburg meeting to Robin Santra, an Assistant Physicist in the Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Group of the Chemistry division of Argonne National laboratory, United States, for his work on "Strong-field control of x-ray absorption"



Legal Info