Skip navigation

University College Dublin Logo

Advanced Search

UCD News

Nuacht UCD

Posted: 02 August 2007

3 out of 4 provincial football champions captained by UCD graduates

3 of the 4 winning provincial senior football county teams were captained by UCD graduates, and their teams are due to play in the Bank of Ireland All-Ireland Football Quarter Finals on 04 August and 11 August 2007 at Croke Park. Sligo will play Cork on 04 August; Tyrone will challenge Westmeath on the same day; and on 11 August Dublin will meet Derry.

Noel McGuire (Ag Science 2001) led the Sligo Senior County Team to a victory over Galway in the Connacht Senior Football Championship on 08 July 2007. While Colin Moran (B Comm 2001) captained the Dublin Senior County Team to a win over Laois in the Leinster Senior Football Championship on 15 July 2007. On the same day, Brian Dooher (MVB 1998) captained the Tyrone Senior Football Team to success over Monaghan in the Ulster Senior Football Championship.

University College Dublin would like to congratulate its graduates on their Provincial Football Championship wins and to wish them well in their forthcoming Bank of Ireland All-Ireland quarter final games.


In 2002, Noel McGuire was a Dublin senior football championship winner with UCD. Brian Dooher was All-Ireland winning football captain for Tyrone in 2005 and Sigerson Cup winning medallist in 1996 with UCD.

>> UCD Sport Website

>> More News and Events
<< Back to Home