Skip navigation

University College Dublin Logo

Advanced Search

UCD News

Nuacht UCD

Posted 27 November 2008

Results of UCD staff elections to Fourth Governing Authority

Counting of votes in UCD staff elections to the fourth Governing Authority took place on Wednesday, 26 November 2008 under the direction of the Returning Officer, Professor Gerry Doyle. 
Four outgoing members of the Professorial Panel were re-elected: Professors Maurice Boland, Tom Brazil, Pat Shannon and Mary Daly.  They will be joined on the new Authority by Professors Brigid Laffan and Dermot Moran, who were elected for the first time.

Four outgoing members of the Non-Professorial Academic Staff Panel were also re-elected: Dr Gerald Mills, Dr Joe Brady, Mr John Dunnion and Dr Gerard Casey.  The fifth member elected by the non-professorial academic staff is Ms Rita Collins.

The full results were as follows:

Professorial Academic Staff Panel (6 seats)

Boland, Maurice

107 (E)
Brazil, Thomas 106 (E)
Carrington, Stephen 69
Daly, Mary 82 (E)
Evans, Alexander 33
Gallagher, Mary 73
Gardiner, Stephen 72
Gibbons, Patrick 78
Laffan, Brigid 93 (E)
Lysaght, Patricia 73
Moran, Dermot 79 (E)
Powderly, William 56
Shannon, Patrick 98 (E)
Non-Professorial Academic Staff Panel (5 seats)
Brady, Joseph 235 (E)
Butler, Michelle 78
Casey, Gerard 209 (E)
Collins, Rita 206 (E)
Doohan, Fiona 56
Dunnion, John 222 (E)
Mills, Gerald 238 (E)
Rickard, Scott 45

Three candidates in the non-academic panel, being the only nominees in that staff constituency, were deemed elected following the close of nominations on 29 October: Mary Buckley, Robert French and Hugo O’Donnell.

The fourth Governing Authority will hold office for the period 01 February 2009 to 31 January 2014.

Governing Authority Secretariat

>> More News and Events
<< Back to Home