Skip navigation

University College Dublin Logo

Advanced Search

UCD News

Nuacht UCD

Five national student media awards for UCD students

Posted: 30 March 2007

UCD students swept the boards at the 3 Student Media Awards in Dublin winning five awards – more than any other college.

The University Observer claimed three of the top awards. Stephen Carroll won Editor of the Year. Sports Writer of the Year went to Laura Toogood. And Seán Kearney accepted the accolade for best Layout & Design. Receiving his award, Carroll, a Law and European Legal Studies graduate, paid tribute to Deputy Editor Michelle McCormick and the paper’s 60-strong team of student contributors.

The College Tribune successfully claimed two student media awards. Editor, Colin Gleeson scooped Journalist of the Year (National Press), and Caitrina Cody was awarded the prize for Features Writer (Female Focus).

The 3 Student Media Awards were open to third-level students from the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. On 27 March 2007, almost 1,000 students attended the award ceremony hosted by Apres Match comedian Barry Murphy.

Over the course of the seven-year history of the event, The University Observer has won more student media awards than any other publication in the country.

>> More News and Events
<< Back to Home