Skip navigation

University College Dublin Logo

Advanced Search

UCD News

Nuacht UCD

Posted: 15 November 2006

Three Professors contest Governing Authority by-election

Three Professors have been validly nominated to contest the by-election to fill a casual vacancy on the professorial panel of the UCD Governing Authority arising on the retirement of Professor Muiris X. FitzGerald.

They are:

CURRAN, Aongus J., Professor of Oto-Rhino-Laryngology
McMAHON, Joseph A., Professor of Commercial Law
SHANNON, Patrick M., Professor of Geology.

As determined by the Governing Authority at its meeting on 24 October 2006, the by-election will be conducted by postal ballot and voting will be by single, non-transferable vote. The counting of votes will take place on Friday, 1 December 2006.

Voting papers and other election documents will be issued to members of the professorial elective body on Monday, 20 November 2006. Voting papers must be received by the President’s Office no later than 5.00 p.m. on Thursday, 30 November 2006.

The period of office of the Governing Authority ends on 31 January 2009.

Enquiries should be directed to Paul Kelly in the Governing Authority Secretariat by telephone: 716 1704 or by e-mail: