2016 UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science Awards Ceremony

Recognising the achievements of School of Agriculture and Food Science students at undergraduate level.

On the 17th November the UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science celebrated the annual student prize giving awards ceremony. The event took place in the UCD O'Brien Centre for Science and was attended by student and graduate prize winners, invited guests, award sponsors, industry stakeholders and university staff.

A total of 23 prizes were awarded to students and recent graduates based on the 2015/16 academic session. A number of the awards are sponsored by industry including The Fertilizer Association of Ireland; the Agricultural Economics Society in Ireland; the Agricultural TrustGrant Thornton and the Institute of Biology of Ireland.

A number of new awards were established in 2016 including the Institute of Biology of Ireland (IBIOLI) Professor Michael Hennerty Memorial Prize and Medal and the Grant Thornton PWE Excellence Awards.

Pictured are Yang Shen, Stage 4 BAgrSc Horticulture, Landscape and Sportsturf Management student and recipient of the Patrick Dempsey Memorial Prize, with Dr Owen Doyle, Dr Mary Forrest and Professor Alex Evans 

Additionally a number of scholarships are awarded by the School to commemorate the life and work of UCD staff, graduates and students who have sadly passed. These include the Ian Gordon Award, the Hussey Prize in Agribusiness, the Paul Mulhere Award, the Patrick Dempsey Memorial Prize, the Patrick Hogan Memorial Scholarship, the Paddy O'Keeffe Dairy Business Project Award and Colm O’Loghlen PWE Excellence Awards.

Lastly the PWE Excellence Awards also recognise a number of outstanding students who have excelled in their Stage 3 Professional Work Experience placement.

Related links

See the full list of winners and images from the event