Maths Sparks Closing Ceremony (posted 4/05/16)

The closing ceremony of Maths Sparks 2016 was held in the College of Science on Monday April 25th. 

Over seventy post-primary students from twelve participating schools received a certificate for their successful participation in the Maths Sparks Problem Solving Workshops 2016 programme. At the ceremony, parents and teachers were invited to celebrate as students were awarded their certificates by the Dean of Science, Prof Joe Carthy. An additional prize was awarded to Charisse Rebuldad, from Killinarden Community College, who solved a mathematical problem set by Dr Robert Osburn during the workshop series.

Over the seven weeks of the programme, students from the School of Mathematics & Statistics designed and presented mathematics workshops which would build skills in problem solving and mathematical thinking. Workshops were designed in a wide range of topics such as Cryptography and Game Theory, with content external to the post-primary mathematics curriculum. Lecturers from the School of Mathematics & Statistics assisted undergraduate teams in designing their workshops and also presented to post-primary students on the opportunities for further study and research in mathematics.

The Maths Sparks programme, run by Dr Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin and Dr Anthony Cronin, is now in its second year and is funded by SFI.


Participating Schools:

Cabinteely Community College

Caritas College

Killinarden Community College

Kylemore College

Rosary College

St Dominic's Secondary School

St John's College

St. Kilian's, Bray

St. Mark's Community School

St. Paul's Secondary School, Greenhills

St. Tiernan's Community School

Tallaght Community School


Mathsparks 5

Maths Sparks 2016 participants 


Mathsparks 2

 Dr Anthony Cronin and Prof Joe Carthy with some participating students


Mathsparks 3

Charisse Rebuldad (from Killinarden Community College) with Dr Robert Osburn


Mathsparks 4

UCD Students who took part in preparation and running of Maths Sparks 2016


Participating UCD Students:

Andrew Boland

Jenny Costello

Nikki Cowzer

Deirdre Creegan

Ciara Delaney

Ciara Downey

Jesse Dunne

John Flynn

Daniel Giles

Niamh Hayes

Dawn Hutchings-Walsh

Conal Heusaff

Emma Howard

Maria Jacob

Ciara Kelly

Emily Lewanowski-Breen

Daniel McGettrick

Daniel Murphy

Dean Murphy

Rachel O'Connor

Mateusz Olszewski

Katie O'Riordan

Peter Thompson

Michael Tolan

Bronagh Walsh

Thomas Whelan