Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Six student media awards for UCD journalists

Pictured: Members of the University Observer and College Tribune at the 2018 National Student Media Awards. (Credit: University Observer)

Posted April 20, 2018

Each of UCD’s four student media outlets has received honours at the annual National Student Media Awards.

The six individual winners include writers and presenters from the (opens in a new window)University Observer, (opens in a new window)College Tribune, (opens in a new window)Belfield FM and (opens in a new window)UCD TV.

Neuroscience graduate and College Tribune co-editor Rachel O’Neill was named Features Writer of the Year (News and Current Affairs). O’Neill has written about online echo chambers, student mental health and the referendum to repeal the Eighth Amendment.

Luke Fitzpatrick, who studies Information and Social Computing, received the TV Production of the Year award for his work with UCD TV. Fitzpatrick was recognised for his video ’(opens in a new window)22-year-old tries a 12-year-old's homework’.

Environmental biology student Matthew Rose-Nel won News Photographer of the Year. Rose-Nel has photographed UCD Students’ Union campaigns, society events and campus life.

Belfield FM auditor Willem McCartney won the People’s Choice Award. The English and film student was nominated for his radio show Abridged Rumbles, A Council of Weird Religions, and Radio Communique: 5 “Compressor”. You can listen (opens in a new window)here.

Law and history student Cian Carton, co-editor of the College Tribune, won the RSA Award for Journalism Relating to Road Safety. Carton’s piece covering the adequacy of road safety laws can be read (opens in a new window)here.

The University Observer’s Brían Donnelly, who studies law and economics, won the European Commission Award. Donnelly was awarded for his article on threats to the media in Europe.

Limerick Voice, the student newspaper at the University of Limerick, won Newspaper of the Year. Dublin City University student Shauna Bowers was named Editor of the Year for her stewardship of The College View.

The 2018 ceremony was the 18th edition of the National Student Media Awards.

By: Jonny Baxter, digital journalist, UCD University Relations