Explore UCD

UCD Home >

BAFA ‘Distinguished Academic’ honour for UCD corporate governance expert

Posted 10 April, 2019

(opens in a new window)Professor Niamh Brennan has been named by the (opens in a new window)British Accounting & Finance Association as the recipient of its 2018 Distinguished Academic Award.

The corporate governance expert received the distinguished award for making a substantial contribution to academic accounting and finance life in the UK.

Awardees are selected annually by the BAFA Executive Committee following a nomination from its 750-strong membership.

Speaking at the group’s annual conference, Professor Brennan said she was “humbled” by the honour, and delighted to be named as its 25th distinguished academic.

“I thank my BAFA colleagues for recognising my research and contribution,” she added.

Professor Brennan, who established (opens in a new window)UCD’s Centre for Corporate Governance, is a chartered accountant with KPMG, holds a PhD from the University of Warwick and is a Chartered Director of the Institute of Directors (London).

An inaugural honorary fellow of the Institute of Directors in Ireland and an honorary fellow of the Society of Actuaries in Ireland, she is the Michael MacCormac Professor of Management at University College Dublin.

Alongside publishing more than 100 research papers and articles on accounting, corporate governance and finance, Professor Brennan has held visiting positions at several universities in Australia and New Zealand.

As the BAFA's 2018 Distinguished Academic scholar, Professor Brennan will present a plenary paper at its next annual conference, and have this paper published in the British Accounting Review journal at a later date.

The BAFA Distinguished Academic Award recipients include:

  • Ian Tonks (2017)
  • Jeffrey Unerman (2016)
  • Christopher Nobes (2015)
  • Christopher Humphrey (2014)
  • Jan Bebbington (2013)
  • Philip Molyneux (2012)
  • Vivien Beattie (2011)
  • Keith Hoskin (2010)
  • Richard Macve (2009)
  • Jane Broadbent (2008)
  • Martin Walker (2007)
  • Peter Pope (2006)
  • Richard Laughlin (2005)
  • Pauline Weetman (2004)
  • Bob Scapens (2003)
  • Andrew Stark (2002)
  • David Otley (2001)
  • Rob Gray (2000)
  • Tony Lowe (1999)
  • Michael Bromwich (1998)
  • Anthony Hopwood (1997)
  • Bob Parker (1996)
  • Ken Peasnell (1995)
  • Geoff Whittington (1994)

By: David Kearns, Digital Journalist / Media Officer, UCD University Relations