Explore UCD

UCD Home >

UCD Ad Astra Scholar Béibhinn Parsons named Irish Rugby Writers Women’s Player of the Year

Posted 22 January, 2021

UCD Ad Astra Scholar Béibhinn Parsons has been named the Guinness Irish Rugby Writers Women’s Player of the Year.

The Galway native and Connacht rugby star was recognised following her breakthrough season in 2019/2020 with the Irish Women’s Team.

Ms Parsons, who studies Biomedical, Health & Life Sciences at the UCD College of Health and Agricultural Sciences, was the star of Ireland's opening Six Nations wins against Scotland and Wales.

The 19-year-old scored three tries during the tournament before it was suspended due to the COVID pandemic.

“To follow in the footsteps of incredible players like Ciara Griffin, Claire Molloy and Sene Naoupu is just incredible,” said the Ballinasloe winger.

“To even be nominated for an award of this calibre has exceeded all my expectations. I would have never considered myself to be in the same bracket of players with those women.”

Former UCD Business and Law student and Leinster and Ireland centre Garry Ringrose was recognised by the Rugby Writers of Ireland as the Men’s Player of The Year. 

Sinead Kissane, Chairperson of the Rugby Writers of Ireland added: “2020 was a very challenging year for all but it is also important to recognise the work and achievements of many during this difficult time and acknowledge the achievements of our inductees to the Hall of Fame.”

The Guinness Irish Rugby Writers Awards come after a prolonged 2019-20 campaign which did not conclude until last autumn due to COVID-19.

Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Award Winners:

  • Men’s Player of The Year: Garry Ringrose
  • Women’s Player of the Year: Béibhinn Parsons
  • Tom Rooney Award: Garrett Fitzgerald
  • Dave Guiney Team of the Year: Leinster
  • Men’s 7s Player of the Year: Jordan Conroy
  • Women’s 7s Player of the Year: Louise Galvin
  • Club of the Year: Ballynahinch
  • Hall of Fame inductees: Trevor Ringland and Fiona Coghlan