UCD School of Veterinary Medicine - Athena SWAN

Athena SWAN Charter

Recognising advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all.

The Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research.

In May 2015, the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL), and in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

The Athena SWAN charter commits education institutions to adopt ten principles to tackle gender inequality and the underrepresentation of women in senior roles in higher education.

UCD signed the Athena SWAN charter in 2015 and received the Athena SWAN Bronze Institutional Award in March 2017 in recognition of its commitment to improving gender equality. The award is given to higher education institutions that have demonstrated a comprehensive understanding of gender equality issues and have enacted an action plan to tackle them.

By the end of 2019, Higher Education Institutions in Ireland will be required to hold an Athena SWAN Bronze award to be eligible for research funding from Science Foundation Ireland, the Irish Research Council and the Health Research Board.

Self Assessment Team (SAT)

In September 2017, the School of Veterinary Medicine set up a Self Assessment Team (SAT) with a view to applying for an Athena SWAN Bronze award in November 2018.

The SAT has 17 members from across the School (pictured) who are at various stages in their careers. Team members’ selection was based on the need for diversity in gender, academic level and parenthood responsibilities. It's made up of members of senior management, professors/lecturers, clinical staff, professional staff, research staff and students.

SAT membership is as follows:

Prof. Torres Sweeney (Chair): Professor of Animal Genomics. Email: torres.sweeney@ucd.ie

Dr Rory Breathnach: Associate Professor / Clinical Director, UCD Veterinary Hospital. Email: rory.breathnach@ucd.ie

Dr Joseph Cassidy: Associate Professor, Veterinary Pathology. Email: joseph.cassidy@ucd.ie

Prof. Michael Doherty: Dean & Head of the School of Veterinary Medicine / Professor of Veterinary Clinical Studies. Email: michael.doherty@ucd.ie

Dr James Gibbons: Assistant Professor in Veterinary Public Health / Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Progression. Email: james.gibbons@ucd.ie

Dr Lynne Hughes: Associate Professor in Veterinary Anaesthesia & Analgesia / Discipline Leader, Veterinary Anaesthesia, UCD Veterinary Hospital. Email: lynne.hughes@ucd.ie

Prof. Grace Mulcahy: Professor of Veterinary Microbiology and Parasitology. Email: grace.mulcahy@ucd.ie

Dr Niamh Nestor: Student Adviser. Email: niamh.nestor@ucd.ie

Dr Sinead Ryan: Assistant Professor in Veterinary Biosciences. Email: sinead.ryan@ucd.ie

Dr Cliona Skelly: Assistant Professor / Discipline Leader, Diagnostic Imaging, UCD Veterinary Hospital. Email: cliona.skelly@ucd.ie

Dr Marion Ryan: Senior Technical Officer (Molecular Biology). Email: marion.ryan@ucd.ie

Dr Mary McDonnell: Postdoctoral Research Fellow, level 2. Email: mary.mcdonnell@ucd.ie

Mr Mark Carty: Educational Technologist. Email: mark.carty@ucd.ie

Ms Vivien Stuttgen: Postgraduate student in Drug Delivery. Email:vivien.stuttgen@ucdconnect.ie

Ms Margot Penney: Undergraduate student of Veterinary Medicine. Email: margot.penney@ucdconnect.ie

Ms Adele Walsh: Undergraduate student of Veterinary Medicine. Email: adele.walsh@ucdconnect.ie

Ms Katherine Battles: Undergraduate student of Veterinary Nursing. Email: katherine.battles@ucdconnect.ie

The School’s SAT meet regularly to progress our application for the November deadline. We also review and monitor the implementation of our planned actions.

We welcome feedback that helps us address our Athena SWAN objectives - SAT members can be contacted at their email addresses above to discuss Athena SWAN.

Karen O’Connell joined the School in January 2018 to help with the administration of the Athena SWAN application. She can be contacted on vetathenaswan@ucd.ie