News Headlines

Go Eve: EV charging start-up wins UCD’s 2021 Start-Up of the Year

Twins Conor and Ronan Burke, who both studied at the UCD School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, were recognised in the publication's 'Technology' section for their company Inscribe.
Founded in 2017 by the Limerick brothers after they graduated, the company automates the process of identifying fraudulent documents.

Professor Anding Zhu elevated to IEEE fellow

It is our great pleasure to announce that the IEEE Board of Directors at its November 2021 meeting elevated Prof Anding Zhu to IEEE Fellow, effective 1 January 2022

UCD Silicon Quantum Computing Spin-Out Receives Multimillion Euro Venture Capital Investment

Equal1 Laboratories (Equal1), a University College Dublin silicon quantum computing spin-out company, today announced btov Industrial Technologies has joined Atlantic Bridge and other Equal1 investors in a multimillion Euro funding round. The funding, which will accelerate the introduction of the world’s most compact and cost-effective quantum computers, brings the initial capital invested in Equal1 to over €10 million.

Prof Orla Feely delivers Presidential Address to Engineers Ireland on Ireland’s industrial transformation

UCD Vice-President for Research, Innovation and Impact Professor Orla Feely gave her Presidential Address to Engineers Ireland at the association’s headquarters on 30 September. Entitled ‘Saints, Scholars and Engineers: How Engineering Transformed a Nation,’ her speech considered Ireland’s technological and economic revolution over recent decades, and the challenges to be addressed at this time of disruption.

UCD Professor Orla Feely inaugurated as President of Engineers Ireland

Engineers Ireland has inaugurated Professor Orla Feely, UCD Vice-President for Research, Innovation and Impact, as the professional body's 129th President.
Professor Feely, from the UCD School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, assumed the role in a virtually ceremony during the organisation's AGM on Thursday, 3 June.

UCD Engineers Among Winners of NovaUCD’s 2021 Innovation Awards

Dublin, Ireland, 29 March 2021, Equal1 Labs, an engineering spin-out company, and Dr Paul Cuffe, UCD School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, are among the recipients of NovaUCD’s 2021 Innovation Awards which were announced today.

NovoGrid Pilot Project Saves Over 300,000 kWh of Renewable Energy at Wexford Wind Farm

NovoGrid, an Irish software company that optimises energy delivery, today announced the successful completion of a two-year pilot project with ESB Networks at SSE Renewables’ Richfield wind farm in Co. Wexford.

UCD Engineers Receive 2019 NovaUCD Innovation Awards

NovaUCD today announced the winners of its annual innovation awards. A total of 7 Awards, including the 2019 NovaUCD Innovation Award, were revealed during a virtual event, to highlight successes made in areas of commercialisation, consultancy, entrepreneurship and the promotion of an innovation culture, by members of the UCD community