UCD Medicine Conferring 2024

On Thursday, 6 June, the UCD Medicine Conferring Ceremony took place at UCD O’Reilly Hall, celebrating a significant milestone for all graduating students. The event recognised the achievements of over 300 graduates receiving undergraduate, graduate master’s, and doctoral degrees. We were delighted to welcome the classes of 2024, accompanied by their families and friends, to celebrate the accomplishments of the newest cohort of medical professionals.

Medicine Conferring 2024 Three students smiling        Medicine Conferring 2024 Walkway to Stage

The distinguished ceremony saw an impressive assembly of esteemed academic and clinical faculty members, featuring inspiring speeches and the presentation of prestigious awards to recognise the outstanding achievements of students.

Congratulations to the following awardees:



1941 Medal

Dr Therese Rose Meade

Aongus J Curran Medal in Otolaryngology

Dr Zahra Khosravi

Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal

Dr Therese Rose Meade

Colman Saunders Paediatric Medal

Dr Dasha Goubkine

D.K. O'Donovan Medal in Medicine

Dr Therese Rose Meade

Dr Mary J Farrell Medal for General Practice

Dr Claire Bright

Geoffrey J. Bourke Medal

Dr Molly Isabella Gervin

John McGrath Memorial Medal in Forensic & Legal Medicine

Dr Kate Banks

Kirwan Medal in Ophthalmology

Dr Lily Farrell

Professor Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry

Dr David Carolan

Surgeon Hugh Boyle Kennedy Bequest

Dr Yvonne O’Toole

The Professor Niall O'Higgins Medal for Surgery

Dr Yvonne O Toole

We would also like to congratulate Bassem El Saghir, who has been awarded the Medicine Student of the Year Award as voted by his peers. 

Medicine Conferring 2024 Orla Feely Michael Keane        Medicine Conferring 2024 Students Throwing Hats

This important occasion marked a key moment of reflection on the past years of hard work and dedication. 

Congratulations and thank you to everyone who attended! Please click here to see photos from the day.