March 2020 | Márta 2020

Laboratory Scientist of the Year Award

Thu, 12 March 20 15:31

Matt Moran, Judging Co-ordinator, presents the Laboratory Scientist of the Year award to Dr. Jaythoon Hassan - UCD National Virus Reference Laboratory.


Congratulations to Dr Jaythoon Hassan, based in the UCD National Virus Reference Laboratory, who was the Winner of this year’s Laboratory Scientist of the Year Award at the Irish Laboratory Awards.  These national scientific awards were presented at a gala event on the 5th March 2020 in the Ballsbridge Hotel, Dublin.

This award recognised her contribution to innovation, leadership and research, at both a national and international level.  Dr Hassan’s research is focused on viral host-pathogen interactions with a view towards understanding the factors affecting the development of immunity due to vaccine or natural viral exposure.  She aims to translate her findings to the development of innovative diagnostic assays to help improve laboratory-based diagnostic algorithms.  

Dr Hassan has recently secured significant research funding from SFI, Temple Street Foundation and the National Children’s Research Centre, Crumlin and works in close collaboration with colleagues in the HSE Health Protection Surveillance Centre; CUH Temple Street; St. Vincent’s University Hospital, TCD, TU Dublin, DCU and the National Children’s Research Centre to facilitate these studies.

Dr Hassan is a member of the UCD Centre for Experimental Pathogen Host Research (

About the Irish Laboratory Awards

The Irish Laboratory Awards recognise excellence and achievement in the laboratory environment, covering management, innovation, collaboration, personnel development and laboratory equipment supply.  (