Conferring & Gala Dinner | 2011

Congratulating the Class of 2011

Congratulations to the graduates of our Medicine programmes who were awarded their degrees on 2nd June 2011. A total of 146 undergraduate students from our four, five and six-year programmes were awarded MB BCh BAO degrees by the President, Dr. Hugh Brady at a graduation ceremony in the O'Reilly Hall.

At the traditional UCD Medicine Gala Dinner, individual achievement and academic excellence was recognised with a range of prizes and medals including student-nominated awards. For achievement as first overall in the class, the 1941 Medal was awarded to Dr. Hugh Adler. Dr. Adler was also the winner of the William Wilde Medal in Otolaryngology for 2011 and shared first place for the D.K. O’Donovan Medal 2011 with Dr. Róisín O’Connor. Dr. Siobhán Neville was awarded the Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry 2011 for achieving the highest class place in Psychiatry, and in Surgery for which she was presented with the Surgeon Hugh Boyle Kennedy Bequest. Dr. Louise Hickey was presented with the Paediatrics Medal 2011 and the Kirwan Medal in Ophthalmology was awarded to Dr. Sarah Ryan. The 2011 Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal was awarded to Dr. John Brennan.

The Student of the Year Award for Radiography was presented to Ms.Bríd Leamy by the Head of Diagnostic Imaging, Dr. Louise Rainford.  The Medicine Student of the Year was awarded to Dr. Susan McAnallen by MGA President, Dr. Jane Dolan and the BSc Biomedical Health & Life Sciences Student of the Year Award was presented to Mr. Robert Maughan by Professor Bill Watson.

These students will maintain this trail-blazing role as they embark upon the new National Intern Training Programme and many will continue to participate in UCD-led clinical training at Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, St Vincent’s University Hospital and the Midlands Regional Hospitals in Tullamore, Portlaoise and Mullingar, St Columcille's, St. Michael's, Cappagh, Temple Street and General Practices throughout the country.

Honorary Fellowship Award

UCD Dean of Medicine Professor Bill Powderly presented the Mr. Brendan Lyons, President of Penang Medical College, with an Honorary Fellowship Award of the School of Medicine and Medical Science at University College Dublin.  This is the most prestigious award that the School can confer. The purpose of the Honorary Fellowship Award is to recognise and acknowledge the achievements and contributions of certain distinguished individuals who are experts in their particular field or discipline and who are not members of UCD faculty or staff and selection is based on outstanding contribution to medical and public life, and to UCD School of Medicine.

One of the highlights of the annual Gala dinner is the recognition of the teachers of the year. The teachers of the year are voted by students at each stage and are recognized by the students by virtue of their dedication to their subject and the energy and enthusiasm they show.  This years the teachers recognized were, Professor Niall Tubridy, Professor Andrew Green, Professor Donal O’Shea, Dr. Philip Nolan, Mr. Jonathan McNulty, Dr. Stuart Bund, Ms Marion Maher, Dr. Koon Meng Chan, Ms Allison McGee, Dr. Michaela Davis, Dr. Orina Belton, Dr. Aoife Maguire, Dr. John Seery, Ms. Niamh Bambury, Mr. Gerry McEntee and Dr. Blaithín McMahon.

The Conclusion of a Successful Year

The UCD Medicine Gala Dinner marks the conclusion of another successful year and as students commence their careers in Medicine, Radiography and Science, our academic staff begin preparations for the next student intake.  The success of the Class of 2011 spur our staff on as they review teaching materials, reflect on feedback from students, colleagues and external examiners to deliver innovative, high quality programmes.