Conferring & Gala Dinner | 2013

Congratulating the Class of 2013

On June 6th 2013, 177 undergraduate and graduate entry students of medicine were conferred with degrees. The ceremony, which took place at O'Reilly Hall, Belfield, also saw the awarding of honorary degrees to Tom Lynch and Professor Charlie Serhan.

The annual conferring marks one of the high-points in the School's academic and social calendar. The bestowing of the prestigious MB BCh BAO degree, took place under the direction of Dr Hugh Brady, President, UCD and the Dean of Medicine, Professor Patrick Murray. The graduands will now formally join the ranks of the medical profession, whereupon they will begin a year's further training as interns.

Gala Dinner and Awards

Later in the evening, the class of 2013 assembled, with colleagues, teachers and friends for the annual gala dinner - a formal celebration of achievement, community and friendship. During the event, individual achievement and academic excellence was recognised with a range of prizes and medals including student-nominated awards.

Dr John Maher was awarded medical student of the year, while Hannah Turner and Elisa D'Arcangelo were awarded (respectively) student of the year in radiography and biomedical health and life sciences. Meanwhile, Evan Heritage scooped the physiology student of the year award, presented by Dr Stuart Bund.

2013 | Award Winners

Student Awards

Surgeon Boyle Kennedy Bequest 

Dr Stephanie Rutledge

Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal

Dr Stephanie Rutledge

Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry

Dr Oliver McElvaney

The 1941 Medal

Dr Stephanie Rutledge

D.K. O'Donovan Medal in Medicine

Dr Stephanie Rutledge

The William Wilde Medal in Otolaryngology

Dr Chee Hon Ng

The Paediatrics Medal

Dr. Grace Dillon

Kirwan Medal

Dr Christine McCarthy

Professor Patrick Meenan Medal for Microbiology in Medicine 

Drs Louisa Shackleton and Elizabeth Roy

Teaching Awards

Teacher of the Year Award Medicine (Pre clinical)

Dr Koon Meng Chan and Dr Patrick Felle

Teacher of the Year Award Medicine (Clinical)

Dr Gerard O'Connor

Teacher of the Year Award Biomedical Health & Life Science 

Prof Stephen Pennington and Dr Tara Mc Morrow

Teacher of the Year Award Radiography

Ms Marion Maher

Teacher of the Year Award Physiology

Dr Stuart Bund

Admin & Technical Awards

Technical Staff Award for Outstanding Contribution

Mr Harry Kavanagh and Mr Peter McLoughlin

Administrative Staff Award for Outstanding Contribution

Ms Aisling O'Keeffe and Ms Zoe Thompson