Conferring & Gala Dinner | 2014

Congratulating the Class of 2014

The 2014 UCD Medicine Conferring took place at O'Reilly Hall, Belfield on Thursday 5th June 2014 with 200 undergraduate and graduate entry students awarded degrees in Medicine. 

The annual conferring marks one of the high-points in the School's academic calendar.  The bestowing of the prestigious MB BCh BAO degree, took place under the direction of Dean of Medicine, Prof Patrick Murray and UCD President, Prof Andrew Deeks, presiding over his first UCD Conferring Ceremony. The graduands will now formally join the ranks of the medical profession, whereupon they will begin a year's further training as interns.

Gala Dinner and Awards

Later in the evening, the UCD Medicine Gala Dinner 2014 took place in UCD O'Reilly Hall, Belfield.  This black tie event was attended by over 600 guests including recent graduates, their families and friend, School and University staff as well as VIP guests from our clinical affiliates.  A range of student and teaching awards were presented by UCD President, Prof Andrew Deeks who was attending his first UCD Medicine Conferring events.

The Medicine Gala Dinner is the School's formal celebration of achievement, community and friendship.  During the event, individual achievement and academic excellence was recognised with a range of prizes and medals including student-nominated awards.  Among the prizes awarded this year was the inaugural Professor Peter Dervan Memorial Medal for Excellence in Cancer Pathology. 

For many the highlight of the evening was the address by Guest of Honour, Dr Anne Merriman MBE (UCD Medicine 1957), leader of hospice development in Africa.  Drawing on her extensive experience of working in palliative medicine, Dr Merriman's wise words were received by an attentive and transfixed audience.  Dr Merriman received the School's Honorary Fellow award in 2007 in recognition of her lifetime's work.  Since then she has received the Irish Presidential Distinguished Service Award for her charitable works (November 2013) and in February 2014 was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

2014 | Award Winners

Student of the Year Awards

Biomedical Health & Life Science

Adam Russell-Hallinan


Dr Robert Keenan


Mr Douglas Halligan


Mr Michael Oyuga

 Subject-Specific Awards & Individual Medals

Undergraduate Prize for Physiology

Mr Douglas Halligan

Geoffrey J. Bourke Medal

(Epidemiology, Public & International Health)

Dr Sean Murphy

Surgeon Hugh Boyle Kennedy Bequest (Surgery)

Dr Kee Yang Brendan Yap

Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal (Medicine)


Dr Sean Murphy

Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry (Psychiatry)

Dr Barra Neary

1941 Medal (Academic Excellence)

Dr Sean Murphy

D.K.O'Donovan Medal (Academic Excellence)

Dr Sean Murphy

William Wilde Medal (Otorhinolaryngology)

Dr Lauren O'Connell

Paediatrics Medal (Paediatrics)

Dr Grellan Tuohy & Dr Sheena Coyne

Kirwan Medal (Ophthalmology)

Dr Norella Broderick

Prof Patrick Meenan Medal for Microbiology (Microbiology)

Dr Hannah Lucey

Peter Dervan Memorial Medal (Cancer Pathology)

Dr Joshua Belle

 Teaching Awards

Pre-Clinical Medicine

Dr Jane Dolan &

Dr Koon Meng Chan

Clinical Medicine

Dr John Seery &

Mr Gerry McEntee

Biomedical Health & Life Science

Dr Orina Belton


Ms Marion Maher


Dr Stuart Bund &

Dr Katherine Howell

Academic Support Staff Awards

Administrative Staff Award

Ms Judy Farrell

Technical Staff Award

Mr Gary F. Perry