Conferring & Gala Dinner | 2016

Congratulating the Class of 2016

The 2016 UCD Medicine Conferring took place at O'Reilly Hall, Belfield on Thursday, 2nd June 2016 with 230 graduands being conferred with undergraduate and graduate entry Medicine (MB BCh BAO) degrees as well as 43 doctoral and masters graduate degree awards in Medicine.  

The annual conferring marks one of the high-points in the School's academic calendar. The proceedings were led by UCD President, Prof Andrew J Deeks supported by Prof Cecily Kelleher (College Principal, UCD College of Health & Agricultural Sciences) and Prof Patrick Murray (Dean of Medicine and Head, UCD School of Medicine). The graduands will now formally join the ranks of the medical profession, whereupon they will begin a year's further training as interns.

Gala Dinner and Awards

Later in the evening, the UCD Medicine Gala Dinner 2016 took place in UCD O'Reilly Hall, Belfield.  This black tie event was attended by over 500 guests including recent graduates, their families and friend, School and University staff as well as VIP guests from our clinical affiliates. 

The Medicine Gala Dinner is the School's formal celebration of achievement, community and friendship.  During the event, individual achievement and academic excellence was recognised with a range of prizes and medals including student-nominated awards. A range of student and teaching awards were presented by UCD President, Prof Andrew Deeks.

2016 | Award Winners

Student of the Year Awards

Radiography Mr Avril Lysaght
Biomedical, Health & Life Sciences Caoimhe Kirby
Medicine Catherine (Kate) Murphy

 Subject-Specific Awards & Individual Medals

1941 Medal Dr Hannah T. Lucey
Surgeon Boyle Kennedy Medal Dr Robert Foley
Brian McGovern Perpetual Medal Dr Eimear O'Connell
D.K.O'Donovan Medal in Medicine Dr Cathal Niall O'Leary
Sean Malone Medal in Psychiatry Dr Aoife Maria Heeney
William Wilde Medal in Otolaryngology Dr Janelle Meara O'Sullivan
Paediatrics Medal Dr Robert Foley
Kirwan Medal Dr Jenny Russell
Geoffrey J. Bourke Medal Dr Rachel Dilworth
John McGrath Memorial Medal in Forensic & Legal Medicine Dr Ciara Hayden
Professor Niall O'Higgins Medal for Surgery Dr Hannah T Lucey
Philips Medal and Prize Ms Avril Lysaght
O'Farrell Medal Ms Ciara Crofton
Kieran O'Driscoll Prize Ms Zara Togher

Teaching Awards

Clinical Medicine

Prof Donal O'Shea, Dr John Seery & Dr Samantha Doyle

Preclinical Medicine Dr Tom Flanagan
Biomedical, Health & Life Science Dr Tara McMorrow

Ms Kate Matthews & Dr Eoin Kavanagh


Dr Stuard Bund & Prof Cormac Taylor


 Academic Support Staff Awards

Administrative Staff Award Ms Debbie Kileen
Technical Staff Award Mr Conor Lyons