Explore UCD

UCD Home >

PhD and Research Students

 
Shokouh Afyouni 

Thesis Title: Comparative study of citizenship and belonging among Iranian migrants s in Ireland and the UK

Supervisor: TBD

email: shokouh.afyouni@ucdconnect.ie 

Profile photo 

Ishrat Ali

Thesis Title: Determinants of life expectancy in a socioeconomically poor and politically fragile state (Jammu Kashmir) of India

Supervisor: Ronnie Moore

email: ishrat.ali@ucdconnect.ie 

Profile photo 

Olga Bzdawka

Thesis Title: Women’s welfare after marriage: the experiences of women in rural communities in Ruvuma, Tanzania.

Supervisor: Sara O'Sullivan

Email: olga.bzdawka@ucdconnect.ie 

   

 Jian Hai Cai

Thesis Title: Workplace Diversity and Organisational Culture in An Garda Síochána: Relationships, Impacts and Implications

Supervisor: Aogán Mulcahy

Email: jian-hai.cai@ucdconnect.ie 

   

Dyuti Chakravarty

Thesis Title: "Break the Cage": The Politics of Respectability and Female Desire - A Comparative Study of Women's Movements for Bodily Autonomy in India and Ireland. 

Supervisor: Alice Feldman

Email: dyuti.chakravarty@ucdconnect.ie 

 

Monika da Silva Pedroso

Thesis Title: Minority Languages, Bilingualism and Educational Stratification in Post-Colonial Ireland: A Comparative Study 

Supervisor: Mathew Creighton

Email: pedrosomonika@gmail.com 

   

Mark Doyle

Thesis Title: The Negotiation of Sexual Identity and Self-Presentation on Dating Applications by MSM in Ireland

Supervisor: Alexander Kondakov

Email: mark.doyle.2@ucdconnect.ie 

 
Adaku Ezeudo

Thesis Title: Ethnic Diversity And Inclusion In Irish Film And Television

Supervisor: Steven Loyal

Email: adaku.ezeudo@ucdconnect.ie 

 

Daniel Guigui

Thesis Title: Mapping Cosmoscapes and Their Effects on Everyday Cosmopolitanism Across Four Irish Cities

Supervisor: Marta Eichsteller

Email: daniel.guigui@ucdconnect.ie 

 

Loghman Hamehmorad

Thesis Title: TBC

Supervisor: Andreas Hess

Email: Lhamehmorad@gmail.com  

 

Yuliang Lu

Thesis title: Hate Crime in China

Supervisor: Alexander Kondakov

Email: yuliang.lu@ucdconnect.ie 

Profile photo 

Halyna Herasym

Thesis Title: Moral regulations of inequalities: the funerals of homeless people

Supervisor: Marta Eichsteller

Email: halyna.herasym@ucdconnect.ie 

 

Conor Keogh

Thesis Title: Gambling in context: a social network analysis of problem gambling

Supervisor: Aogan Mulcahy

Email: conor.keogh.2@ucdconnect.ie 

Profile photo 

Tessa Mazar

Thesis Title: Developing or developed: An analysis of Irish societal ideologies regarding climate policy

Supervisor: Gerard Boucher

Email: tessa.mazar@ucdconnect.ie 

    

Claire Mc Gettrick

Thesis Title: Illegitimate Knowledge? Pathologisations of Adopted People in Adoption Psychology and the Shaping of Adoption Policy

Supervisor: Seán L'Estrange

Email: claire.mc-gettrick@ucdconnect.ie 

   

Grainne Mc Keever

Thesis Title: 

From Student to Citizen: The role of Post primary schooling in the political socialization of Irish youth

Supervisor: Kieran Allen

Email: grainne.mc-keever@ucdconnect.ie 

   

Michael Mc Loughlin

Thesis Title: Ethico-Aesthetics, Assemblage and Relationship Building: Divining models of Participant-Institution connection in Social Art Practice

Supervisor: Alice Feldman

Email: michael.mcloughlin@ucdconnect.ie 

Profile photo 

Jeffery Niu

Thesis Title: Are They Acculturating? Reconstruction of Gender roles in Chinese Families in Ireland

Supervisor: Gerard Boucher

Email: jianfei.niu@ucdconnect.ie 

 
Francesca Pignoloni (MLitt)
Thesis Title: ‘Anomie’ as a consequence of low social mobility
Supervisor:  Mathew Creighton
Profile photo 

Samuel Scanlon

Thesis Title: A Comparative Study of Conflict Tourism in Transitional Northern Ireland and Conflicted Palestine.

Supervisor: Lea David

Email: Samuel.Scanlon@ucdconnect.ie

 
Claudia Vlad
Thesis Title: Cultural Heritage, civil resistance and transnational governmentality in East Jerusalem and the West Bank (from the Oslo Accords to today)
Supervisor:  Lea David
 
Candace Thomas
Thesis Title: Displacement to Placemaking: How the Kurdish Alevi, Iraqi Yazidi and Irish Travellers navigate identity and change over time, space and place.
Supervisor:  Alice Feldman
 
Caroline Walsh

Thesis Title: An Exploration of the Irish State’s Immigration Policies and Procedures: An Archival Examination of Ireland's Immigration Legacy

Supervisor: Steven Loyal

Email: caroline.walsh3@ucdconnect.ie 

 

Alexandra Woods

Thesis Title: Gateway to Europe: Ireland's Structural Relationship with U.S. Multinational Enterprise

Supervisor: Kieran Allen

Email: alexandra.woods@ucdconnect.ie 

 

Nada Yehia

Thesis Title: Study of refugee-led hospitality practices as a humanitarian response to forced migration

Supervisor: Alice Feldman

Email: yehia.nada@ucdconnect.ie 

Profile photo 

Yuchen Zhang

Thesis Title: When Women Wear Trousers: The Reversed Gender Role Distribution of households in China as Women’s Socioeconomic Status Raises

Supervisor: Sarah Carol

Email: yuchen.zhang@ucdconect.ie 

UCD School of Sociology

Newman Building (Room D401), University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
T: +353 1 716 8263