Explore UCD

UCD Home >

EDI at UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science

Members of School of Agriculture and Food Science EDI Committee (from left): Frank Monahan, Saoirse Tracy, Trudee Fair, Angela Feechan, Gordon Kavanagh, Shona Baker, Henna Kinsella, Paddy Glennon, Alex Evans, Monica Gorman. 

The EDI committee has a membership of 17 (59% female). Committee members include staff from all four sections of the school, academics at different levels, technical and administrative staff, research staff, and students at undergraduate and postgraduate level. The Head of School is a member of the EDI committee.

The first task of the EDI committee was the completion of an Athena SWAN submission in November 2018 which led to our Athena Swan Bronze award in May 2019. Since the award the committee has broadened its role to include wider EDI elements while also working to deliver an extensive action plan developed as part of the Athena SWAN submission.

The gender profile of the School of Agriculture and Food Science has changed dramatically over the last 30 years. In the early 1990s there was one female academic staff member and the student cohort was heavily male-dominated. Today there are almost equal numbers of female and male staff and students in the School.

EDI Committee members

Saoirse Tracy and Frank Monahan (co-chairs), Valerie Abbott, Shona Baker (Postgraduate Student Representative), Nigel Brunton, Elizabeth Carthy (Postgraduate Student Representative),  Alex Evans, Trudee Fair, Angela Feechan, Paddy Glennon, Monica Gorman, Mary Harty (Research Funded Staff Representative), Gordon Kavanagh, Henna Kinsella, Deirdre O'Connor, Tomás Russell, Moya Ryan.

UCD School of Agriculture and Food Science

Agriculture and Food Science Centre, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
T: +353 1 716 7205 | Location Map