Explore UCD

UCD Home >

PhD Candidates

PhD Candidates

   

Marion Bartl

Thesis Title:
Fair NLP: Mitigating bias and discrimination in datasets and machine learning models for natural language processing.

Email:
marion.bartl@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
(opens in a new window)Dr Susan Leavy

   

Justin Edwards (he/him)

Thesis Title: Designing interruptions for proactive speech agents.

Email: justin.edwards@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor(s)(opens in a new window)Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan (and Prof Julie Berndsen (second supervisor)

    Orla Cooney (she/her)

Thesis Title: Designing Speech Agents to Support Mental Health Practice.

Email: orla.cooney@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisors: (opens in a new window)Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan, Dr. Gavin Doherty (TCD)
 
   

Faye Carrie (they/them)

Thesis Title: An Examination of how the Information Behaviour of Non-Binary and Genderqueer People shapes their Lived Experience.

Email: david.carrie@ucdconnect.ie 
Supervisor(s): (opens in a new window)Assoc Prof Crystal Fulton and (opens in a new window)Dr. Claire McGuinness

   

Megan Fahy
 
Thesis Title:
Fostering Digital Social Capital through Design for Wellbeing.

Email:
megan.fahy@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
(opens in a new window)Dr Marguerite Barry

   

Jean Itangayenda

Thesis Title: Peer-to-peer financial transactions in Rwanda.

Email: jean.itangayenda@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: (opens in a new window)Professor Kalpana Shankar

    Christo Jacob

Thesis Title: Exploring Digital Colonialism and the Crisis of LGBTQ Political Representation in South India.

Email: christo.jacob@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor(opens in a new window)Dr Páraic Kerrigan
    Jason Kalathas

Thesis Title: How Emerging Technologies Are Conceived and Understood Across Society.

Email: Jason.kalathas@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor(opens in a new window)Professor Eugenia Siapera
   

Xinna Li (She/her)

Thesis Title: Social Media, Information Types and Sources, and the Public Perception and Response to COVID-19 in China.
 
Email: xinna.li@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: (opens in a new window)Professor Eugenia Siapera
 
    Xiaoyi Liu

Thesis Title:
Formulate Research Topic: Social Media and Misogyny: Online Hate Discourse Against Women in China.

Email:
xiaoyi.liu1@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
(opens in a new window)Professor Eugenia Siapera
 
 
Loise Macharia (She/Her)

Thesis Title:
Constructive News & Conflict: A case Study of Kenya’s War on Terror 2010-2020.

Email:
loise.macharia@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor:
(opens in a new window)Dr Marguerite Barry
    Naoise McNally

Thesis Title: Auditing Facebook Algorithms: A Longitudinal Study of the Algorithmic Rating of News.

Email: naoise.mcnally@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor(opens in a new window)Dr Susan Leavy and (opens in a new window)Dr Marco Bastos
    Ana Moritz

Thesis Title: Repertoires of Resistance against Big Tech in Brazil.

Email: ana.moritz@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: (opens in a new window)Professor Kalpana Shankar
   

Marie O’Neill

Thesis Title:
The Visible Library Publisher: The Strategic Positioning of Academic Library Publishing in the Irish Scholarly Communications Landscape.

Email:
marie.oneill@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
(opens in a new window)Dr Lai Ma

   

Giulia Osti (she/her)
 


Thesis Title: Customising AI for Digital Curation Work that Utilises Controlled Vocabularies
.


Email: giulia.osti@ucdconnect.ie

Supervisors:(opens in a new window) Dr Amber Cushing, UCD and Assoc Prof Suzanne Little (DCU) 

   

Paola Peña (Peña) (she/her)

Thesis title: The division of labour in human-machine communication: Exploring the allocation of perspective-taking resources.



Email: paola.pena@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisors(opens in a new window)Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan and Dr. Rachel McDonnell 

    Aoife Quinn Hegarty

Thesis Title: Modalities of Representation of Irish Feminist Movements in Irish Media 1960 – 2019: Media Activism, Production Culture and Feminist Organising.

Email: aoife.quinnhegarty@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor(opens in a new window)Professor Eugenia Siapera and (opens in a new window)Dr Páraic Kerrigan
    Jacka Rhys

Thesis Title: Perspective Taking in Multiparty Human-Machine Dialogue.

Email: jacka.rhys@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: (opens in a new window)Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan
    Marin Schmalzried

Thesis Title: Imagining and Designing the Metaverse.

Email: marin.schmalzried@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: (opens in a new window)Professor Eugenia Siapera
    Daniel Snow

Thesis Title:
Data Aware Design: A framework for understanding human-data interaction in HCI and AI.

Email:
daniel.snow@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
(opens in a new window)Dr Marguerite Barry
    Otavio Vinhas (he/him; they/them)

Thesis Title: When fact-checking is not WEIRD: Social platforms and the governance of fact-checking beyond the West.

Email: otavio.vinhas@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: (opens in a new window)Dr. Marco Bastos 
   

Yunhan Wu

Thesis Title: Second language speakers’ interactions with speech interfaces.

Email: Yunhan.wu@ucdconnect.ie

Supervisor(s)(opens in a new window)Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan

UCD School of Information and Communication Studies

Newman Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
T: +353 1 716 8360