Explore UCD

UCD Home >

PhD Candidates

PhD Candidates

 

Marion Bartl

Research Interests:
Fair NLP: Mitigating bias and discrimination in datasets and machine learning models for natural language processing.

Email:
marion.bartl@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
Dr Susan Leavy

Justin Edwards (he/him)

Research Interests: Human-computer interaction, interruptions, multitasking, speech interfaces, proactive agents
Thesis Title: Understanding Spoken Interruptions to Inform Design of Proactive Speech Agents

Email: justin.edwards@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor(s)Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan (primary supervisor) and Prof. Julie Berndsen (second supervisor)
  Orla Cooney (she/her)

Research interests: Human Computer Interaction, Conversational User Interfaces, Digital Mental Health
Thesis Title: Designing Speech Agents to Support Mood Logging

Email: orla.cooney@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisors: Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan, Dr. Gavin Doherty (TCD)
 
 

David Carrie (they/them)


Research interests: include information behaviour, information literacy, gender identity, equity in library service provision and exploring the diverse lived experiences of those within the LGBTQIA+ community.
Thesis Title: The role of information in the formation of gender identity for non-binary and genderqueer people

Email: david.carrie@ucdconnect.ie 
Supervisor(s): Assoc Prof Crystal Fulton and Dr. Claire McGuinness

 

Megan Fahy
 
Research Interests:
Fostering Digital Social Capital through Design for Wellbeing.

Email:
megan.fahy@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
Dr Marguerite Barry

 

Jean Itangayenda

Research Interests: Peer-to-peer financial transactions in Rwanda

Email: jean.itangayenda@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: Professor Kalpana Shankar

  Christo Jacob

Research Interests: Exploring Digital Colonialism and the Crisis of LGBTQ Political Representation in South India.

Email: christo.jacob@ucdconnect.ie
SupervisorDr Páraic Kerrigan
  Jason Kalathas

Research Interests: How Emerging Technologies Are Conceived and Understood Across Society

Email: Jason.kalathas@ucdconnect.ie
SupervisorProfessor Eugenia Siapera
 

Xinna Li (She/her)

Research Interests: Health Communication, Science Communication, Social Media
Thesis TitleSocial Media, Information Types and Sources, and the Public Perception and Response to COVID-19 in China
 
  Xiaoyi Liu

Research Interests:
Formulate Research Topic: Social Media and Misogyny: Online Hate Discourse Against Women in China

Email:
xiaoyi.liu@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
Professor Eugenia Siapera

 
Loise Macharia (She/Her)

Research Interests:
Journalism Practice; Media studies; Political Conflict; Democratic systems; Governance
Thesis Title:
Constructive News & Conflict: ”A study of Media Coverage and Terrorism in Kenya 2010-2022

Email:
loise.macharia@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor:
Dr Marguerite Barry
  Naoise McNally

Research Interests: Auditing Facebook Algorithms: A Longitudinal Study of the Algorithmic Rating of News

Email: naoise.mcnally@ucdconnect.ie
SupervisorDr Susan Leavy and Dr Marco Bastos
  Ana Moritz

Research Interests: Repertoires of Resistance against Big Tech in Brazil

Email: ana.moritz@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: Professor Kalpana Shankar
 

Marie O’Neill

Research Interests:
The Visible Library Publisher: The Strategic Positioning of Academic Library Publishing in the Irish Scholarly Communications Landscape

Email:
marie.oneill@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
Dr Lai Ma

 

Giulia Osti (she/her)
 


Research Interests: Artificial Intelligence for GLAMs, Computer Vision, Digital Curation, Heritage Studies, Knowledge Organisation, Computer Supported Cooperative Work, Mixed Research Methods, Data Science.
 
Thesis Title: Customising AI for Digital Curation Work that Utilises Controlled Vocabularies
 


Email: giulia.osti@ucdconnect.ie

Supervisors: Dr Amber Cushing, UCD and Assoc Prof Suzanne Little (DCU) 

 

Paola Peña (Peña) (she/her)

Research interests: My research focuses on the communicative mechanisms that people and machines employ during speech interactions and how these can promote more natural conversations.
Thesis title: The division of labour in human-machine communication: Exploring the allocation of perspective-taking resources.



Email: paola.pena@ucdconnect.ie
SupervisorsAssoc Prof Benjamin Cowan and Dr. Rachel McDonnell 

  Aoife Quinn Hegarty

Research Interests: Modalities of Representation of Irish Feminist Movements in Irish Media 1960 – 2019: Media Activism, Production Culture and Feminist Organising

Email: aoife.quinnhegarty@ucdconnect.ie
SupervisorProfessor Eugenia Siapera and Dr Páraic Kerrigan
  Jacka Rhys

Research Interests: Perspective Taking in Multiparty Human-Machine Dialogue

Email: jacka.rhys@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan
  Marin Schmalzried

Research Interests: Imagining and Designing the Metaverse

Email: marin.schmalzried@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: Professor Eugenia Siapera
  Daniel Snow

Research Interests:
Data Aware Design: A framework for understanding human-data interaction in HCI and AI

Email:
daniel.snow@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: 
Dr Marguerite Barry
  Otavio Vinhas (he/him; they/them)
 
Research Interests: Misinformation, Fact-checking, Social Media, Dewesternization
Thesis Title: When Fact-checking is not WEIRD: Challenges in fact-checking beyond the Western World

Email: otavio.vinhas@ucdconnect.ie
Supervisor: Dr. Marco Bastos 
 

Yunhan Wu

Research Interests: My area of interest is the non-native (L2) speakers’ language production & generation pattern, and the partner model in human-machine dialogue, especially focused on Mandarin Chinese speakers. This mainly focuses on how non-native speakers generate their non-native language when they interact with a speech agent and if there is any difference between L2 human-human interaction.
Thesis Title: L2 speaker language production in human-machine dialogue interaction.

Email: Yunhan.wu@ucdconnect.ie

Supervisor(s)Assoc Prof Benjamin Cowan

UCD School of Information and Communication Studies

Newman Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
T: +353 1 716 8360