Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Anne Enright wins The Writer’s Prize for Fiction 2024

Anne Enright Wins Writers Prize for Fiction 2024

The School warmly congratulates our Professor of Fiction, Anne Enright, on winning The Writer’s Prize for fiction 2024 for her latest novel ‘The Wren, The Wren’.

First awarded in 2014, The Writers’ Prize – formerly The Rathbones Folio Prize – is open to all works of literature written in English and published in the UK. The author of the Book of the Year is awarded £30,000, and each category winner is awarded £2,000. All genres and all forms of literature are eligible, except work written primarily for children. Previous winners include Margot Jefferson, Anne’s compatriot Colm Tóibín, Carmen Maria Machado, and Valeria Luiselli.

Anne Enright was appointed as Ireland’s first Professor of Fiction in 2018 and has taught on our Creative Writing MFA programme ever since.