School of Medicine Undergraduate and Taught MSc Research Ethics Committee

Welcome to the School of Medicine Undergraduate and Taught MSc Research Ethics Committee portal. 

The UCD School of Medicine Undergraduate and Taught Masters Research Ethics Committee (UTMREC-SM) is constituted as a committee of the UCD School of Medicine and as a sub-committee of the UCD Human Research Ethics Committee - Sciences (UCD-HREC-LS). The Committee will review applications for ethical approval, or exemption from full ethical review, for research conducted by registered undergraduate and graduate taught students on behalf of UCD-HREC-LS.

Here we have assembled information and resources which we hope will assist you to ensure that your research is conducted to the highest ethical standards and to ensure that we have appropriate procedures in place to demonstrate same.

  • How to apply for Ethics Review (or Exemption from Review where appropriate)
  • About the UTMREC-SM
    • Membership
    • Terms of Reference
  • Relevant Policies and Guidelines
  • Useful Links
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • How to Contact the UTMREC-SM

UTMREC-SM Meeting Date

Application submission deadline* (by 5p.m.)

Monday 11th April 2022

Wednesday 30th March 2022

Monday 9th May 2022

Wednesday 27th April 2022

Monday 13th June 2022

Wednesday 1st June 2022

Monday 11th July 2022

Wednesday 29th June 2022

PLEASE NOTE: NO UTMREC-SM MEETING IN AUGUST

Monday 12th September 2022

Wednesday 31st August 2022

Monday 10th October 2022

Wednesday 28th September 2022

Monday 14th November 2022

Wednesday 2nd November 2022

Monday 12th December 2022

Wednesday 30th November 2022

* Please note that these deadlines do not apply for Exemption from Full Review Applications

Email medicinerec@ucd.ie with any further queries