Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Research Students

Research Students

There are currently over 40 PhD students within the School. There is also a visiting researcher option within the School which has enhanced the Schools’ research programme.

Meet some of our students below:

Alessandra Accogli

Supervisor: Amrei Muller

Research Area: International Climate Change and Human Rights Law


Edwin Albas  (European Research Council PhD Scholar)

Supervisor: Suzanne Kingston

Research Area: European Environmental Law


Rachel Claire Brady (Sutherland School of Law Scholar)

Supervisor: Dr. Cliona Kelly

Research Area: Intellectual property; patent law; trade mark law; bioethics; judicial decision making 


Sarah Balto  (Saudi Government Scholar)

Supervisor: John O'Dowd

Research Area: International Human Rights


Richard Bunworth (School of Law Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisor(s): Mary Catherine Lucey

Research Area: EU Competition Law 


Mícheál Callaghan  (European Research Council PhD Scholar)

Supervisor: Suzanne Kingston

Research Area: Environmental Law 

  Andrew Condon

Supervisor: Anthony Kerr

Research Area: Employment Law and Industrial Relations 


Neil Coogan  (School of Law Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisor: Joe McGrath

Research Area: Corporate Regulatory Enforcement 


Sonya Cotton (ERC project PROPERTY[IN]JUSTICE)

Supervisor: Amy Strecker 

Research Area: Pluralising property: Land, legal pluralism and foreign investments in Southern Africa 


Alison Coyne

Supervisor: Professor Ian O’Donnell

Research Area: Criminology/Criminal Justice 


Khaled Fouda

Supervisor: Marie-Luce Paris

Research Area: Comparative Constitutional Law 


Sharon Galantino (UCD-Roma Tre University Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisors: Dr TJ McIntyre, Professor Vincenzo Zeno-Zencovich

Research Area: Information Technology Law, Media Studies, Freedom of Expression, Privacy 


Seána Glennon

Supervisors: Eoin Carolan and Gavin Barrett

Research area: Constitutional Law and Deliberative Democracy 


Orla Kelleher  (IRC Scholar )

Supervisor: Andrew Jackson

Research Area: Climate Change Law 


Opeyemi Kolawole 

Supervisor: Cliona Kelly

Research Area: Intellectual Property Law 


Weiran Kong 

Supervisor: Richard Collins

Research Area: International Legal theory 


Shizhu Liang

Supervisor: Brian Hutchinson

Research Area: Arbitration 


Alacoque McAlpine 

Supervisor: Dr Sara Benedí Lahuerta

Research Area: Fashioning an Ethical Supply Chain: Supporting efforts to secure a living wage for European factory workers in the hypermobile garment industry


Jaime Mc Loughlin (Sutherland Scholar)

Supervisor: Dr Suzanne Egan

Research Area: Irish Constitutional Law, Comparative Constitutional Law and Theory, International and Comparative Human Rights Law 


Michael McNamara

Research Area: Irish Criminal Law 


Ciara Molloy (Irish Research Council Scholar)

Supervisor: Ian O'Donnell

Research Area: Criminal Justice History 


Raphael Ng’etich (European Research Council PhD Scholar)

Supervisor: Amy Strecker

Research Area: Land, property and spatial justice in international law 


Lauren OConnell (School of Law Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisor: Deirdre Healy

Research Area: Criminal law/criminology 


Tony O'Donnell

Supervisor: Eoin Carolan

Research Area: Governance in Policing 


Bashir Otukoya

Supervisor: Marie-Luce Paris

Research Area: EU Law and Governance with Politics and International Relations 


Aphrodite Papachristodoulou (NUI E J Phelan Fellow in International Law/ A.G. Leventis Foundation Grant Holder)

Supervisor: Richard Collins

Research Area: Migration and Refugee Law, Maritime Law


Orlaith Rice


Research Area: Populism and constitutionalism in Europe 


Demian Iglesias Seifert

Supervisor: Eoin Carolan

Research Area: Comparative Constitutional Law 


Olufunmilola Sodipo  (School of Law Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisor: Brian Hutchinson

Research Area: International Investment Law 


Alexandru Soptica (Matheson Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisor: Mary Catherine Lucey

Research Area: EU Competition Law and EU Private International Law/EU PIL 


Neza Subic  (School of Law Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisor: Marie-Luce Paris

Research Area: European Union Law 


Kevin Whooley 

Research Area: Legal Procedure & Constitutional Law 


Ellis Witcher (School of Law Doctoral Scholar)

Supervisor: Richard Collins

Research Area: International Criminal Law 


Xuedan (Shelly) Xiong

Supervisor: Noel McGrath

Research Area: Company law and comparative study 

UCD Sutherland School of Law

University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.