Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Faculty

Philosophy Staff and Postdocs

Some of our school members following a research day in the school April 2023

From left to right:  Gillian Johnston, Dr Meredith Plug, Professor Maria Baghramian, Dr Tatjana vonSolodkoff, Dr Peter Larsen, Dr Lisa Foran, Dr Melanie Altanian, Dr Georgios Petropoulos, Helena McCann, Dr Silvia Ivani, Dr Danielle Petherbridge, Professor Maeve Cooke, Dr Tim Mooney, Profesor Jim O'Shea, Dr Jenny Knell, Dr John Maguire, Dr Ruth Boeker, Dr Elma Unnsteinsson, Dr Graham Clay, Dr Patrick Dawson

Rowland Stout | Head of School

Full Professor | Head of School
rowland.stout@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of agency, moral philosophy, the nature of rationality, emotions, processes, causation, and the metaphysics of mind.

Maria Baghramian

Full Professor
maria.baghramian@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of language; contemporary American philosophy (Putnam, Davidson, Rorty and Quine); relativism and rationality; pragmatism; philosophy of mind; cognitive science.

Ruth Boeker

Assistant Professor
ruth.boeker@ucd.ie
interests: Early Modern Philosophy (especially Locke and his contemporaries), Early Modern Women Philosophers, Scottish Enlightenment Philosophy, History of Ethics, Personal Identity, Agency.

Dragos Calma

Associate Professor
Dragos.Calma@ucd.ie
Interests: History of Philosophy and Theology in the Middle Ages (12th-16th centuries), Metaphysics, theories of Soul, Neoplatonism, reception of Arabic thought in the Latin West, Averroism.

Joseph Cohen

Associate Professor
Joseph.Cohen@ucd.ie
Interests: German Idealism, Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, Phenomenology (Husserl, Heidegger, Levinas, Sartre, Merleau-Ponty), Hermeneutics (Gadamer, Ricoeur), French contemporary philosophy (Derrida, Deleuze, Lyotard, Foucault), Critical Theory, Jewish Philosophy.

Maeve Cooke

Full Professor
maeve.cooke@ucd.ie
Interests: critical social theory; political philosophy, philosophy of law, philosophy of religion, autonomy and authority, protest and resistance, critical theorizing in the Anthropocene

Christopher Cowley

Associate Professor
christopher.cowley@ucd.ie
Interests: ethics, moral psychology, philosophy of criminal law

Tim Crowley

Assistant Professor
Tim.Crowley@ucd.ie
Interests: Ancient Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Political Philosophy

Daniel Esmonde Deasy

Associate Professor
daniel.deasy@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of time, especially theories of time and change; metaphysics of modality; philosophy of religion

Lisa Foran

Assistant Professor
lisa.foran@ucd.ie
Interests: phenomenology, hermeneutics, philosophy of translation, ethics, aesthetics, untranslatable, nationalism, memory

Silvia Ivani

Teaching Fellow
silvia.ivani@ucd.ie
Interests: philosophy of science, feminist philosophy, and social epistemology

Timothy Mooney

Associate Professor
tim.mooney@ucd.ie
Interests: phenomenology, the philosophy of subjectivity and deconstruction, with particular reference to Heidegger and Derrida; Husserl and Merleau-Ponty.

Brian O'Connor

Full Professor
Brian.OConnor@ucd.ie
Interests: Social philosophy; history of German philosophy (especially German idealism and its successors); philosophy of history; psychoanalytic social criticism.

Katherine O'Donnell

Professor in the History of Ideas
katherine.odonnell@ucd.ie
Interests: History of Ideas in Eighteenth-century Ireland; feminist philosophy and gender theory; aesthetic, cultural and social theory; Buddhism in the West.

Jim O'Shea

Professor
jim.oshea@ucd.ie
Interests: Kant, Hume, Pragmatism, Perception, Sellars, History of Analytic Philosophy

Danielle Petherbridge

Assistant Professor
Danielle.Petherbridge@ucd.ie
Interests: Phenomenology, Social Philosophy, subjectivity and intersubjectivity; Critical Phenomenology (especially, race, perception, affect, habit); medical humanities; phenomenological approaches to dementia and mental illness; recognition theory

Elmar Unnsteinsson

Assistant Professor
Elmar.Unnsteinsson@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, semantics, history of analytic philosophy

Tatjana von Solodkoff

Assistant Professor
Tatjana.vonsolodkoff@ucd.ie
Interests: Ontology, Metaontology, Fiction, fictional characters, fictional names, value of death

Keith Wilson

Teaching Fellow
keith.wilson1@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of perception, philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology, cognitive science, spatial and temporal experience, Thomas Reid.

UCD School of Philosophy

Fifth Floor -- 510D, Newman Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
E: philosophy@ucd.ie