Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Faculty

Philosophy Faculty

Maeve Cooke | Head of School

Full Professor | Head of School
maeve.cooke@ucd.ie
Interests: critical social theory; political philosophy, philosophy of law, philosophy of religion, autonomy and authority, protest and resistance, critical theorizing in the Anthropocene

Maria Baghramian

Full Professor
maria.baghramian@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of language; contemporary American philosophy (Putnam, Davidson, Rorty and Quine); relativism and rationality; pragmatism; philosophy of mind; cognitive science.

Ruth Boeker

Assistant Professor
ruth.boeker@ucd.ie
interests: Early Modern Philosophy (especially Locke and his contemporaries), Early Modern Women Philosophers, Scottish Enlightenment Philosophy, History of Ethics, Personal Identity, Agency.

Dragos Calma

Associate Professor
Dragos.Calma@ucd.ie
Interests: History of Philosophy and Theology in the Middle Ages (12th-16th centuries), Metaphysics, theories of Soul, Neoplatonism, reception of Arabic thought in the Latin West, Averroism.

Joseph Cohen

Associate Professor
Joseph.Cohen@ucd.ie
Interests: German Idealism, Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, Phenomenology (Husserl, Heidegger, Levinas, Sartre, Merleau-Ponty), Hermeneutics (Gadamer, Ricoeur), French contemporary philosophy (Derrida, Deleuze, Lyotard, Foucault), Critical Theory, Jewish Philosophy.

Christopher Cowley

Associate Professor
christopher.cowley@ucd.ie
Interests: ethics, moral psychology, philosophy of criminal law

Tim Crowley

Assistant Professor
Tim.Crowley@ucd.ie
Interests: Ancient Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Political Philosophy

Daniel Esmonde Deasy

Assistant Professor
daniel.deasy@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of time, especially theories of time and change; metaphysics of modality; philosophy of religion

Lisa Foran

Assistant Professor
lisa.foran@ucd.ie
Interests: phenomenology, hermeneutics, philosophy of translation, ethics, aesthetics, untranslatable, nationalism, memory

Silvia Ivani

Teaching Fellow
silvia.ivani@ucd.ie
Interests: philosophy of science, feminist philosophy, and social epistemology

Timothy Mooney

Associate Professor
tim.mooney@ucd.ie
Interests: phenomenology, the philosophy of subjectivity and deconstruction, with particular reference to Heidegger and Derrida; Husserl and Merleau-Ponty.

Brian O'Connor

Full Professor
Brian.OConnor@ucd.ie
Interests: Social philosophy; history of German philosophy (especially German idealism and its successors); philosophy of history; psychoanalytic social criticism.

Katherine O'Donnell

Associate Professor in the History of Ideas
katherine.odonnell@ucd.ie
Interests: History of Ideas in Eighteenth-century Ireland; feminist philosophy and gender theory; aesthetic, cultural and social theory; Buddhism in the West.

Jim O'Shea

Professor
jim.oshea@ucd.ie
Interests: Kant, Hume, Pragmatism, Perception, Sellars, History of Analytic Philosophy

Danielle Petherbridge

Assistant Professor
Danielle.Petherbridge@ucd.ie
Interests: Phenomenology, Social Philosophy, subjectivity and intersubjectivity; Critical Phenomenology (especially, race, perception, affect, habit); medical humanities; phenomenological approaches to dementia and mental illness; recognition theory

Julie Reshe

Visiting Associate Professor
Interests: existential philosophy and existential therapy, psychoanalysis, and depressive realism

Rowland Stout

Full Professor
Rowland.Stout@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of agency, moral philosophy, the nature of rationality, emotions, processes, causation, and the metaphysics of mind.

Elmar Unnsteinsson

Assistant Professor
Elmar.Unnsteinsson@ucd.ie
Interests: Philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, semantics, history of analytic philosophy

Tatjana vonSolodkoff

Assistant Professor
Tatjana.vonsolodkoff@ucd.ie
Interests: Ontology, Metaontology, Fiction, fictional characters, fictional names, value of death

UCD School of Philosophy

Fifth Floor -- 510D, Newman Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
E: philosophy@ucd.ie