Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Thomas S. Wheeler Lecture Series

UCD School of Chemistry Professor Thomas S. Wheeler Lecture

image of Thomas S Wheeler

The Professor Thomas S Wheeler Lecture was established 1964 to commemorate the renowned chemist who was Head of the Department (now School) of Chemistry at UCD from 1945 up to 1962. Prof. Wheeler was also Dean of UCD Faculty of Science and member of UCD's Governing Authority where he was key to the design and plans for the transfer of the Science Faculty from Merrion Street to the purpose built Science Buildings on the new Belfield Campus site. His untimely death in 1962 meant he never saw the completed buildings which he had been so dedicated and enthusiastic in planning.

Prof. Wheeler was Ireland's State Chemist from 1939 to 1945 and from 1931 to 1939 he held the role of Principal and Professor of Organic Chemistry at the Royal Institute of Science Bombay, India and also acted as a science advisor to the government of Bombay. He assisted with the planning of several new chemistry departments in Indian universities and was a foundation fellow of the National Institute of Science of India.

Professor Thomas S. Wheeler Lecture Series

1964-1965 Prof Sir Christopher Ingold FRS

1965-1966 Prof Dorothy C Hodgkin OM FRS (Nobel Prize 1964)

1966-1967 Prof RB Woodward ForMemRS (Nobel Prize 1965)

1967-1968 Prof Derek HR Barton FRS (Nobel Prize 1969)

1968-1969 Prof Vladimir Prelog ForMemRS (Nobel Prize 1975)

1969-1970 Prof Holger GH Erdtman

1970-1971 Prof Ralph A Raphael FRS

1972-1973 Prof Sir Ewart RH Jones FRS

1974-1975 Prof Alan R Battersby FRS

1976-1977 Prof CC Addison FRS

1978-1979 Prof Alan W Johnson FRS

1980-1981 Prof Ernst Wenkert

1981-1982 Prof Eva M Philbin

1982-1983 Prof Sir Geoffrey Wilkinson FRS (Nobel Prize 1973)

1984-1985 Prof Sir Jack Lewis FRS

1991-1992 Prof Mark E Vol'pin

1996-1997 Prof Kees Vrieze

1997-1998 Prof Sir Jack Baldwin FRS

1998-1999 Prof Gilbert Stork ForMemRS

1999-2000 Prof David Brown

2000-2001 Prof Stephen Lippard

2001-2002 Prof Robert Grubbs (Nobel Prize 2005)

2004-2005 Prof Gerard Jaouen

2006-2007 Prof K Barry Sharpless (Nobel Prize 2001, 2022) 

2008-2009 Prof F Sherwood Rowland ForMemRS (Nobel Prize 1995)

2013-2014 Prof Barry M Trost

2022-2023 Prof Paul T Anastas

Contact UCD School of Chemistry

University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
T: +353 1 716 7777 | E: chemistry@ucd.ie