Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Gavin O’Rourke wins PM Group Kevin Kelly Design Award 2018

University College Dublin graduate Gavin O’Rourke recently won the PM Group Kevin Kelly Design Award 2018 for his contribution to his UCD Chemical and Bioprocess Engineering final-year design project.  

O’Rourke, a graduate of the UCD School of Chemical and Bioprocess Engineering, won the award for his contribution to the team project ‘Design of plant to produce 100,000 MTPY of 99.7 per cent styrene from the dehydrogenation of ethylbenzene’.

“Winning the Kevin Kelly Design Award in my final year at UCD was a great honour. I really enjoyed the challenge of the project and it meant a lot to have my work recognised by industry experts,” he said.

Mary Kelly, widow of the late Kevin Kelly (former chairman of PM Group) made the presentation to Gavin at their Dublin office.  Also in attendance were:  Darragh O’Brien (PM Group, EHS engineer),   Dr Damien Mooney (UCD associate professor), Eileen Lee (PM Group, Operations Manager Dublin),  Michael Egan (PM Group, Emeritus Professor, CBE UCD);  Emma Conway ( PM Group, Architectural Assistant), Dave Murphy, (PM Group, CEO), Elizabeth Falvey (PM Group, Process Department Manager)