Explore UCD

UCD Home >

AC Committee on Academic Centres

The Academic Council Committee on Academic Centres (ACCAC) reviews proposals for establishment of new Academic Centres and, under delegated authority of Academic Council, recommends same to Governing Authority for approval. The Committee is also responsible for monitoring the progress of centres to ensure their sustainability.

Committee Support: University Secretariat | univsec@ucd.ie

 ACCAC Meeting Schedule 2023/2024

Standard Business Items
Submission Deadline 
 Meeting Date
Wednesday 20 September 2023
Wednesday 11 October 2023 at 10am
Wednesday 24 January 2024
Wednesday 14 February 2024 at 10am
Wednesday 24 April 2024
 Wednesday 15 May 2024 at 10am


ACCAC Membership 2023 - 2024

Chair (appointed by President)
Prof. Alex Evans

Acting Registrar, Deputy President and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Prof. Barbara Dooley

Vice President for Research, Innovation & Impact
Prof. Helen Roche

College Principal – Arts & Humanities
Prof. Regina Uí Chollatáin

College Principal – Social Sciences & Law
Prof. Colin Scott

College Principal – Business
Prof. Anthony Brabazon

College Principal – Engineering & Architecture
Prof. Aoife Ahern

College Principal – Science
Prof. Jeremy Simpson

College Principal – Health & Agricultural Sciences
Prof. Cecily Kelleher

Vice Principal for R&I – Arts & Hum.
Dr Helen Dixon

Vice Principal for R&I – Social Sciences & Law
Prof. Dymphna Devine 

Vice Principal for R&I – Science
Dr Elaine O'Reilly

Vice Principal for R&I - Eng & Arch
Prof. Aoife Gowen 

Vice Principal for R&I – Health & Agricultural Sciences
Prof. Lorraine Brennan

Vice Principal for R&I – Business
Prof. Andreas Hoepner

Head of School elected by Heads of Schools
Assoc. Prof. Evelyn Doyle

Head of School elected by Heads of Schools
Dr Kelly Fitzgerald

Member of Academic Council elected by Academic Council
Prof. Eilish McAuliffe

Member of Academic Council elected by Academic Council
Assoc. Prof. Connor Buggy

Member of Academic Council nominated by the President and appointed by Academic Council
Prof. Madeleine Lowery

Member of Academic Council nominated by the President and appointed by Academic Council
Dr Timothy Frawley

The purpose of the Academic Council Committee for Academic Centres is:

  1. To review proposals to establish, develop or re-configure Academic Centres,
  2. To carry out periodic reviews of Centres and make review recommendations regarding the continuation of Centres,
  3. To evaluate applications for the naming or re-naming of Centres against criteria outlined in the Academic Centres Policy,
  4. To consider the appointment of Directors of Centres.

  • Contact the UCD University Secretariat

    Tierney Building, University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
    T: +353 (1) 716 1279 (general enquiries) | E: univsec@ucd.ie