Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Programme Structure

Programme Structure

The programme consists of two phases: the MLitt phase (Year 1) and the PhD phase (Years 2-4).

MLitt phase (Year 1)

The MLitt phase is dedicated to coursework, which equips students to carry out independent research. Students take six core modules in microeconomics, macroeconomics and econometrics. After passing the modules with an average grade of B (3.4 GPA) students transfer to the PhD register.

PhD phase (Years 2-4)

During the PhD phase, students carry out independent research. Each student is assigned a supervisor based on mutual interest as well as a Research Studies Panel, consisting of two additional faculty members.

In March of year 3, students have to pass a transfer seminar in order to progress to the final stage of the PhD.

Details on the MLitt/PhD programme can be found in the programme handbook here.

Contact UCD School of Economics

Newman Building (Room D201) University College Dublin Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland
T: 353 1 716 8335/8188/8505/8272 | Location Map(opens in a new window)