Erasmus

Erasmus (now under the denomination Erasmus+) is an EU-wide exchange programme between universities, which allows you to enrol for one of our many partner universities in Europe, Canada and South America, following courses, improving your chosen language, and generally enjoying the unique experience of living abroad and meeting people from all over the world.

Set up in 1987, the Erasmus exchange programme gives students the opportunity to spend an extended period abroad in an European country. Erasmus stands for European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students. The programme is run and funded by the European Commission through the new ERASMUS+ funding scheme. The main objectives of this funding is for students to integrate with other students across Europe, to develop a broader awareness of European culture as well as furthering their academic abilities in a different learning environment. Students will receive an ERASMUS grant from the international office. The levels of grants vary per year, in 2016-17, the grant for students studying in Germany was 220 Euro p.month. The grant is paid in two instalments.


Please find information for each subject and contact details of all Erasmus coordinators below:

BA International Modern Languages
French
German
Italian
Linguistics
Spanish/Portuguese

BA Modern Languages

Name Office Email Phone
Sabine Strumper-Krobb D311 strumper.krobb@ucd.ie 01-716 - 8187
Selena Daly D310 selena.daly@ucd.ie 01-716 - 8447

DOWNLOAD:


French

Name Office Email Phone
Stephen Schwartz D309 stephen.schwartz@ucd.ie 01-716 - 8129

French and Francophone Studies runs study-year-abroad exchanges with 15 universities across France, Belgium, Switzerland and Canada. They are all year-long exchanges, taken up at the end of second year, so the year abroad operates as the third year of a four-year BA course.

Most of these exchange places are ERASMUS exchanges run with European partner universities. All BA International Modern Languages (French) students are guaranteed an ERASMUS exchange place, subject to the fulfilment of academic requirements. For BCommIntl students, the third year abroad is organized separately through Commerce, and BCommIntl students are not eligible for FFS ERASMUS places. The remainder of our places are open to competition on academic grounds. Preference is given to Major students, and the scheme is not open to Elective students in French. Joint Major students usually have the option of applying for ERASMUS places through their other subject as well as French.

The application process for ERASMUS begins in the first semester of second year and offers of places are made in the second semester of second year. The offer of all places, regardless of programme, is subject to the fulfilment of minimum academic requirements by the end of second year (in 2015-16, 110 credits overall plus passes in both FR20020 and FR20040). Further details about procedures and requirements are supplied in the first semester of second year.


 German

Name Office Email Phone
Sabine Strumper-Krobb D311 strumper.krobb@ucd.ie 01-716 - 8187

DOWNLOAD:


Italian

Name Office Email Phone
Ursula Fanning D319 ursula.fanning@ucd.ie 01-716 - 8475

You can find more information on Erasmus in Italy HERE.


Linguistics

Name Office Email Phone
Feargal Murphy D305 feargal.murphy@ucd.ie@ucd.ie 8221

Spanish & Portuguese

Name Office Email Phone
Pascale Baker (Outgoing) A307 pascale.baker@ucd.ie 8277
Jeremy Squires (Incoming) D323 jeremy.squires@ucd.ie 8111