Explore UCD

UCD Home >

The John Kelly Awards For Universal Design

We are pleased to announce that the final of the John Kelly Awards will be hosted on Tuesday 14 November from 10:00 to 13:15. The event is organised by UCD and AHEAD and will take place online. The awards are prestigious celebration of Universal Design for Learning expertise, showcasing the breadth and range of good practice within the FET and HE sectors. 

Eight individual finalists have been shortlisted this year, four from Further Education & Training and four from Higher Education:

  • Marie Collins, CDETB
  • Aoife Keaney, NLN
  • Geraldine Kyle, KCETB
  • Celia O'Shea, Kerry College
  • Kate Dunne, ATU Connemara 
  • Pauline Logue, ATU
  • Jenny Moffett, RCSI
  • Trish O'Connell, ATU Galway City

Each finalist will present their innovative UDL implementation in front of an international panel of judges. The panel will then determine a deserving winning application from FET and HE. This year, the judging panel consists of:

  • Professor Mustapha, Aabi, Ibn Zohr University (Chair)
  • Katja Hakel, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • Phil Scarffe, De Montfort University
  • Ashiya Abdool Satar, University of South Africa

The final event will include a keynote presentation from (opens in a new window)Dr Loui Lord Nelson on Sustaining Momentum in Universal Design, informed by her experiences as the first UDL coordinator for a school district which saw her acting as a point person to support teachers, administrators, and district leaders in their understanding of and implementation of UDL. 

Following the keynote presentation there will be a panel discussion between Loui and former John Kelly Award winners; Dr Maureen Haran, Dr Niamh Plunkett, Dr Anita Byrne, facilitated by Lisa Padden from UCD. 

(opens in a new window)Sign up today to tune into the online final on 14 November.

University for All

University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.
E: UniversityforAll@ucd.ie