Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Prof John Walsh awarded 2017 RIA Gold Medal

Prof John Walsh awarded 2017 RIA Gold Medal

Release Date: Friday, March 23, 2018

Professor John J. Walsh, iCRAG Technical Director, has been awarded the 2017 Gold Medal in the Environmental Sciences and Geosciences by the Royal Irish Academy today for his world renowned contribution to geology.

The medal, sponsored by the Higher Education Authority, was presented by Mary Mitchell O’Connor TD, Minister of State for Higher Education who applauded the ‘real-world application of internationally acclaimed research'.

John Walsh is the Professor of Structural Geology in the School of Earth Sciences at University College Dublin. He is one of the leading international experts on geological faults and their impact on fluid flow. His work has transformed the way geologists view the subsurface structure of fault systems so much so that his name is known by graduate students in structural geology world-wide. Professor Walsh is one of the world’s most highly cited structural geologists and had very substantial impact within industry as well as at the leading edge of academic endeavour.

Speaking at the ceremony, Prof. Walsh said, "I am deeply honoured to receive the Royal Irish Academy Gold Medal. This award is a major endorsement of the work of our group, the Fault Analysis Group, and I would like to thank all of my colleagues who have been central to our research, in particular Conrad Childs, Tom Manzocchi, Andy Nicol, and the late Juan Watterson."

Dr Graham Love, CEO of the Higher Education Authority, said the work that Professor Walsh and Professor Malcolm MacLachlan (winner of 2017 RIA Gold Medal in the Social Sciences) have carried out is symbolic as to why higher education and research is important to Ireland’s development. He said ‘Their work can help provide solutions to our national and global challenges.’

Royal Irish Academy Gold Medals are awarded to individuals who have made a demonstrable and internationally recognised outstanding scholarly contribution in their fields. The medals were established in 2005 to acclaim Ireland’s foremost thinkers in the humanities, social sciences, physical and mathematical sciences, life sciences, engineering sciences and the environment and geosciences. Two medals are awarded each year. The medals are sponsored by theHigher Education Authority.The Royal Irish Academy (RIA) is an all-Ireland, independent, academic body that promotes study and excellence in the sciences, humanities and social sciences. It is the principal learned society in Ireland and has over 480 members who are elected in recognition of their academic achievements.

Photo & article credit iCRAG