Explore UCD

UCD Home >

Aedamar Comiskey is honoured as Law Alumni Award Winner 2023

Aedamar Comiskey is honoured as Law Alumni Award Winner 2023

Law Student Darragh Gorman, Aedamar Comiskey and Professor Orla Feely

The annual UCD Alumni Awards Ceremony honours remarkable members of UCD's alumni network, highlighting their outstanding contributions to society, business, culture, and industry. In a celebration in O’Reilly Hall in November, Aedamar Comiskey received the prestigious Alumni Award in Law for 2023. Aedamar's remarkable journey led her to become Linklaters' Senior Partner and Chair in May, making history as the first female to hold this position in the firm's 183-year history. In the five years leading up to this, Aedamar was the Global Head of Corporate, responsible for managing the Firm’s corporate practice around the world. She currently chairs the Partnership Board and, before that, was a member of the Firm’s Executive Committee for five years. Known as a trailblazer in public and private M&A law, Aedamar's leadership extends to overseeing the firm's relationship with international giants such as HSBC, Visa, Capita, and Tate & Lyle.

Diversity, equity, and inclusion are at the forefront of Aedamar's priorities. As a champion for progress, she actively sponsors Linklaters Women's Leadership Programme, supporting women in reaching senior leadership positions. Aedamar's accolades include being named among Europe's Most Influential Female Lawyers 2023 and recognized in City A.M.'s Power 100 Women List. Her dynamic personality and ability to navigate complex issues with good-humoured candour have earned her admiration from colleagues and clients alike. 

Reflecting on her university days at the ceremony, Aedamar shared a lighthearted story of seeking guidance from a fortune-teller in Dublin's Temple Street. Encouraged to pursue law, Aedamar's journey at UCD's School of Law unfolded, marked by academic excellence including her winning first prize for Jurisprudence in final year in college.

Read more about the (opens in a new window)UCD Alumni Awards, hear about (opens in a new window)Aedamar's motivation and outstanding achievements and watch(opens in a new window) the ceremony's highlights.

Aedamar Comiskey is the tenth recipient of the UCD Alumni Award for Law.  Nominations for the award are sought from our alumni and stakeholders and we encourage you to get involved with the annual selection process by emailing (opens in a new window)alumnicommunications@ucd.ie with suggestions for future awardees.  The distinguished alumni who have been received this award over the past ten years, are as follows:

UCD Alumni Award for Law

2014                      (opens in a new window)Maeve O’Rourke

2015                      (opens in a new window)Miriam O’Callaghan 

2016                      (opens in a new window)Benjamin Cleary

2017                      (opens in a new window)Caoilfhionn Gallagher KC

2018                      (opens in a new window)Vincent Keaveny CBE

2019                      (opens in a new window)Colin Ryan

2020                      (opens in a new window)Sally Hayden

2021                      (opens in a new window)Fiona McEntee

2022                      (opens in a new window)Bill Shipsey SC

2023                      (opens in a new window)Aedamar Comiskey

UCD Sutherland School of Law

University College Dublin, Belfield, Dublin 4, Ireland.